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DEFERRED DEPOSIT TRANSACTION LAW 
 

The following is provided as general information to prospective applicants and is not to be construed as and 
is not an interpretation of the provisions of the California Deferred Deposit Transaction Law (Commencing 
with Section 23000 of the California Financial Code). 
 
DEFINATION OF A “DEFERRED DEPOSIT ORIGINATOR” 
 
In general, a “Deferred Deposit Originator” means any person who offers, originates or makes a deferred 
deposit transaction. Deferred deposit transaction means a transaction whereby a person defers depositing a 
customer’s personal check until a specific date, pursuant to a written agreement, as provided for in Financial 
Code Section 23035. Although deferred deposit originators must obtain a license from the Department of 
Business Oversight to engage in the business of deferred deposit transactions, the following persons or 
entities are excluded from the definition of licensee and are therefore not subject to the California Deferred 
Deposit Transaction Law: 
 
1. A state or federally chartered bank, thrift, savings association, or industrial loan company. 

 
2. A retail seller engaged primarily in the business of selling consumer goods, including consumables, to 

retail buyers that cashes checks or issues money order for a minimum fee not exceeding $2 as a service 
to its customers that is incidental to its main purpose of business.  

 
LICENSE APPLICATIONS 
 
Any person that intended to engage in the business of deferred deposit transactions on or after December 31, 
2004, who held a permit from the Department of Justice prior to January 1, 2003 and made deferred deposit 
transactions prior to January 1, 2003, was required to submit a license application to the Department of 
Business Oversight with the appropriate fees and pay the initial assessment on or before May 15, 2003.  All 
other persons must submit an application with the appropriate fees and obtain a license from the Department 
of Business Oversight prior to engaging in the business of deferred deposit transactions. A short form 
application must be submitted for each additional location.   
 
Any persons that intended to engage in the business of deferred deposit transactions on or after December 
31, 2004 who held a check cashing permit from the Department of Justice on or before January 1, 2003 and 
made deferred deposit transactions prior to January 1, 2003, and failed to submit a license application or pay                                          
a license fee on or before May 15, 2003, shall upon the request of the Commissioner and applying for a 
license, forfeit an additional sum of $25 for every day or part of a day that the submission or payment is  
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delayed or withheld for each location, in accordance with Financial Code Section 23100(b).  
 
• Application forms and livescan fingerprint forms may be obtained from any office of the Department of 

Business Oversight and from the website at www.dbo.ca.gov . The office locations are as follows: 
 

320 W. 4th Street, Suite 750          Los Angeles,  CA   90013 (213) 576-7500 
71 Stevenson Street, Suite 2100   San Francisco,  CA   94102 (415) 972-8559 

http://www.dbo.ca.gov/


STATE OF CALIFORNIA –DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS OVERSIGHT 
APPLICATION INFORMATION FOR A LICENSE  
DBO – CDDTL 2022 (Rev. 08-13)  Page 2 of 3 
 
 

  
 

 
 

 

1515 K. Street, Suite 200              Sacramento,  CA   95814 (916) 445-7205 
1350 Front Street, Room 2034      San Diego,  CA   92101 (619) 525-4233 
 

• Complete applications for each location seeking a license shall include: appropriate Application with all 
exhibits, application fee of $200, investigation fee of $100, fingerprint livescan forms with fees for 
processing .  All of the fees are non-refundable. 

 
• Completed applications and related information should be submitted to the Department’s Los Angeles 

office at: 
Department of Business Oversight 

320 W. 4th Street, Suite 750  
Los Angeles, CA  90013 

 
Question regarding the license applications may be directed to the Department of Business Oversight at 
1-866-275-2677. 

 
• Under the law an applicant may be licensed as an individual, a corporation, a partnership, a limited 

liability company, joint venture, an association, a joint stock company, a trust, an unincorporated 
organization, a government entity or a political subdivision of a government entity.  Once a license has 
been issued it is not transferable or assignable. 

 
• The application shall include evidence of a surety bond in the amount of $25,000 on a form prescribed 

by the Commissioner. (The bond has to be in effect prior to the issuance of a license.) 
 
• The application shall include financial statements prepared in accordance with generally accepted 

accounting principles that indicate a net worth of at least $25,000. 
 
• The application must include Department of Justice Form BCII, Requesting Agency copy as proof of 

fingerprint live scan completion and Department of Business Oversight fingerprint processing fee of $20 
per fingerprint live scan submission for the following persons:     

 
1. The applicant, 

 
2. The general partners, officers, directors and persons owning or controlling, directly or indirectly, 

10% or more of the outstanding equity interests of the applicant; and 
 

3. Other key persons involved, such as managers/members, trustees, any other officers with direct 
responsibility for the conduct of applicant’s deferred deposit activity, and the persons who will 
be in charge of the place of business. 
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GENERAL INFORMATION 
 
Prior to submission of an application package, each applicant is required to obtain and read the California 
Deferred Deposit Transaction Law (beginning at Section 23000 of the California Financial Code), which 
may be obtained from the Official California Legislative Information Web site at http://www.leginfo.ca.gov.   
Regulations under the California Deferred Deposit Transaction Law (beginning at Section 2020 of Chapter 
3, Title 10, California Code of Regulations) are available from the Office of Administrative Law Web at 
http://ccr.oal.ca.gov.  
 
These items may be available from the following: 
 

West Group 
50 California Street, 19th Floor 

San Francisco, CA  94111 
(800) 888-3600 

 
General Requirements of Licensees 
 
The following are a few of the areas that should be considered prior to filing an application for a California 
Deferred Deposit Originators license. 
 

a. Licensees are subject to periodic regulatory examinations that must be paid for by the licensee. 
 
b. Licensees must pay an annual assessment each year. 

 
c. Licensees must file an annual report by March 15 of each year commencing on March 15, 2006. 

 
d. Licensees are subject to statutory books and record requirements. 

 
e. Licensees are responsible for compliance with all applicable laws and regulations. 

 
f. Licensees must maintain a surety bond at all times. 

 
g. Licensees must maintain a tangible net worth of at least $25,000 at all times. 

  
 
 
     

 
 
          


