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PRESTON DuFAUCHARD 
California Corporations Commissioner 
ALAN S. WEINGER   
Deputy Commissioner 
MARISA I. URTEAGA-WATKINS (CA BAR NO. 236398) 
Corporations Counsel  
Department of Corporations 
1515 K Street, Suite 200 
Sacramento, California 95814 
Telephone: (916) 445-9626 
Facsimile: (916) 445-6985  
Attorneys for Complainant 
 

 BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF CORPORATIONS 

OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA 

In the Matter of the Accusation of THE 
CALIFORNIA CORPORATIONS 
COMMISSIONER, 
 
  Complainant, 
 
 vs. 
 
MOUNTAINSIDE ESCROW, 
 
  Respondent. 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

 
 
File No.:  963-1780 
 
ORDER IMPOSING PENALTIES PURSUANT 
TO CALIFORNIA FINANCIAL CODE 
SECTION 17408 

 

TO: MOUNTAINSIDE ESCROW 
       405 North Maclay Ave, Unit #202 

San Fernando, CA 91340 

NOW THEREFORE the California Corporations Commissioner (“Commissioner”) having 

found that MOUNTAINSIDE ESCROW failed to file its annual audit report containing audited 

financial statements for its fiscal year ended December 31, 2009  (herein “Annual Report”) as 

required by Financial Code section 17406, MOUNTAINSIDE ESCROW is hereby ordered, pursuant 

to Financial Code section 17408, to pay to the Commissioner the sum of $33,500.00, plus an 

additional $250.00 per calendar day for each day after the date of this Order that the Annual Report 
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is not filed.1  Moreover, the Commissioner having found that MOUNTAINSIDE ESCROW failed to 

pay its assessment due June 30, 2010 (“Assessment”) as required by Financial Code section 

17207(e), MOUNTAINSIDE ESCROW is hereby ordered to pay to the Commissioner the sum of 

$3,920.00, plus an additional 10% penalty for every thirty days after the date of this Order that the 

Assessment is not paid. 2 

Pursuant to Financial Code section 17406, all licensees under the Escrow Law are required to 

file an annual audit report containing audited financial statements (“Annual Report”) within one 

hundred and five (105) days after the close of their fiscal year.  MOUNTAINSIDE’s fiscal year end 

is December 31, 2009.  Accordingly, Respondent was required to file its Annual Report on or before 

April 15, 2010.  On November 2, 2009, Complainant notified MOUNTAINSIDE in writing that its 

Annual Report was due April 15, 2010 for the fiscal year ending December 31, 2009.  

MOUNTAINSIDE failed to file the Annual Report by the April 15, 2010 due date.  On May 

19, 2010, a follow up demand letter was sent to Respondent concerning its failure to file the Annual 

Report.  MOUNTAINSIDE was notified in the letter that failure to file to the Annual Report could 

result in the assessment of penalties calculated from the expiration date of the 10-day demand letter, 

a special examination and/or administrative action. MOUNTAINSIDE has yet to file the Annual 

Report as required by Financial Code section 17406. 

Financial Code Section 17408, subdivisions (b) – (e) provides as follows: 

(b) The commissioner may impose, by order, a penalty on any person  
who fails, within the time specified in any written demand of the  
commissioner, (1) to make and file with the commissioner any report  
required by law or requested by the commissioner.. . .  The amount of the  
penalty shall be one hundred dollars ($100) for each day for the first five  
days the report or information is overdue and, thereafter, five hundred dollars  
($500) for each day the report or information is overdue. 
(c) If, after an order has been made under subdivision (b), a request for  
hearing is filed in writing within 30 days of the date of service of  the order  
by the person to whom the order was directed, a hearing shall be held  
in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, Chapter 5 (commencing  
with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government 

 

1 Accrued Penalties = $50.00 per day for the first five (5) days of delinquency (May 29, 2010 – June 2, 2010) then 
$250.00 per day for each day of delinquency thereafter.   
2 Assessment and Accrued Penalties = $2,800.00 Assessment due on June 30, 2010 plus 10% ($280.00) per month since 
the date due for a total of $3920.00 as of October 30, 2010.   
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Code, and the commissioner shall have all the powers granted under that chapter. 
(d) If the person fails to file a written request for a hearing within 30 days  
of the date of service of the order, the order imposing the penalty shall be  
deemed a final order of the commissioner, and the penalty shall be paid within  
five business days.   

    (e) If a hearing is requested, the penalty shall be paid within five business  
days after the effective date of any decision in the case ordering payment to be paid. 
 

Pursuant to Financial Code section 17207, all licensees under the Escrow Law are required to 

pay an annual license fee or Assessment for each location in an amount not to exceed $2800.00.  

Invoice No. ES0420 in the amount of $2,800.00 was sent to MOUNTAINSIDE, as required by 

Financial Code section 17207, on May 30, 2010.  Payment for the invoice was due June 30, 2010.  A 

penalty of 10% is due for each month or partial month the payment was received after June 30, 2010, 

pursuant to Financial Code section 17207(e)(3). On August 11, 2010, Complainant sent 

MOUNTAINSIDE a follow up demand letter concerning the failure to pay the Assessment.  

MOUNTAINSIDE was notified in the letter that failure to pay the Assessment and related penalties, 

if any, could result in the revocation of its escrow license.  MOUNTAINSIDE, to date, has yet to pay 

the Assessment and/or any penalties relating to the Assessment.    

Financial Code section 17207(e) provides in pertinent part as follows: 
 

   (e) (1) Each escrow agent shall pay to the commissioner for the 
support of this division for the ensuing year an annual license fee 
not to exceed two thousand eight hundred dollars ($2,800) for each 
office or location. 
        (4) If an escrow agent fails to pay the amount due on or before 
the June 30 following the day upon which payment is due, the 
commissioner may by order summarily suspend or revoke the certificate 
issued to the company. 

  
Dated: October 14, 2010  PRESTON DuFAUCHARD    

   Sacramento, CA                  California Corporations Commissioner       
               

 

         By_____________________________ 
Alan S. Weinger 

Deputy Commissioner 


	   Sacramento, CA                  California Corporations Commissioner      

