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Attorneys for Complainant

BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF CORPORATIONS
OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

In the Matter of the Accusation of THE File No.: 413-0493

CALIFORNIA CORPORATIONS
COMMISSIONER,

ACCUSATION
Complainant,
V.

KASTLEPOINT MORTGAGE, INC.,

Respondent.

)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)

Complainant is informed and believes, and based upon such information and belief alleges
and charges as follows:
|
Kastlepoint Mortgage, Inc. (“Respondent”) is a residential mortgage lender licensed by the
Commissioner of Corporations of the State of California (“Commissioner” or “Complainant™)
pursuant to the California Residential Mortgage Lending Act (“CRMLA”), California Financial
Code section 50000 et seq. Respondent’s main office is located at 23161 Lake Center Drive, Suite

100, Lake Forest, California 92630.
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Pursuant to California Financial Code sections 50307 and 50401, all licensees under the
CRMLA are required to file an annual Report of Principal Amount of Loans and Aggregate Amount
of Loans Serviced (“Report”) on or before March 1 of each year for the preceding 12-month period
ended December 31. To date, Respondent has failed to submit the Report despite repeated, written
demand.

On or about January 19, 2007, a Report form was sent to all CRMLA licensees with a notice
that the Report was due on or before March 1, 2007.

On or about May 7, 2007, the Commissioner sent a letter to Respondent notifying
Respondent of its failure to file the Report, assessing a $1,000 penalty pursuant to section 50326
and demanding that the Report be filed no later than May 17, 2007. The letter notified Respondent
that failure to file the Report and/or pay the penalty by such date would result in an action to
suspend or revoke its license.

On or about June 27, 2007, another letter was sent to Respondent demanding that it submit
its Report and pay the assessed penalty on or before July 7, 2007, and notifying Respondent that the
failure to file the Report and/or pay the penalty by such date would result in an action to suspend or
revoke its license pursuant to section 50327.

To date, Respondent has failed to pay the penalty or file the Report as required by sections
50326, 50307 and 50401.

i

A. The 2004 Audit Report

Pursuant to section 50200, Respondent was required to submit its audited financial

statements for fiscal year ended December 31, 2004 (“2004 Audit Report”) to the Commissioner on

1 All references are to the California Financial Code unless otherwise noted.
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or before April 15, 2005, including a reconciliation of trust accounts, and an Independent Auditor’s
Report on Internal Controls (“Report on Internal Controls™) pursuant to California Code of
Regulations, Title 10, section 1950.200.

On or about December 13, 2004, Complainant notified Respondent by letter that its 2004
Audit Report, trust account reconciliation, and Report on Internal Controls were due on or before
April 15, 2005. Respondent failed to submit the 2004 Audit Report, trust account reconciliation or
Report on Internal Controls by such date.

On or about July 7, 2005, Complainant sent a second letter to Respondent demanding that
Respondent file its 2004 Audit Report, trust account reconciliation, and Report on Internal Controls
on or before July 27, 2005 and assessing a $1,000 penalty pursuant to section 50326. The notice
also advised Respondent that the failure to file the report or pay the penalty would result in an
action to suspend or revoke its license. Respondent filed its 2004 Audit Report, trust account
reconciliation, and Report on Internal Controls on or about July 27, 2005; however, Respondent
failed to pay the $1000 penalty.

On or about October 5, 2005, Complainant sent a third letter to Respondent notifying
Respondent that the Commissioner had received its 2004 Audit Report, trust account reconciliation,
and Report on Internal Controls; however, Respondent had failed to pay the $1000 penalty. A copy
of the July 7, 2005 letter was enclosed. To date, Respondent has failed to pay the penalty in
violation of section 50326.

B. The 2005 Audit Report

Pursuant to section 50200, Respondent was required to submit its audited financial
statements for fiscal year ended December 31, 2005 (“2005 Audit Report”) to the Commissioner on

or before April 15, 2006, including a reconciliation of trust accounts, and an Independent Auditor’s
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Report on Internal Controls (“Report on Internal Controls™) pursuant to California Code of
Regulations, Title 10, section 1950.200.

On or about December 6, 2005, Complainant notified Respondent by letter that its 2005
Audit Report, trust account reconciliation, and Report on Internal Controls were due on or before
April 15, 2006. Respondent failed to submit the 2005 Audit Report, trust account reconciliation or
Report on Internal Controls by such date.

On or about August 10, 2006, Complainant sent a second letter to Respondent demanding
that Respondent file its 2005 Audit Report, trust account reconciliation, and Report on Internal
Controls on or before August 20, 2006, and assessing a $1,000 penalty pursuant to section 50326.
The notice also advised Respondent that the failure to file the report or pay the penalty would result
in an action to suspend or revoke its license. Respondent filed its 2005 Audit Report, trust account
reconciliation, and Report on Internal Controls on or about September 5, 2006; however,
Respondent failed to pay the $1000 penalty, which remains outstanding.

v

On or about July 28, 2005, the Commissioner commenced a regulatory examination of the
books and records of Respondent through his examination staff pursuant to section 50302.

On or about January 10, 2006, the Commissioner issued a Report of Examination to
Respondent setting forth the results of the examination and requiring Respondent to submit a report
to Complainant within thirty (30) days describing in detail the corrective action taken by
Respondent in response to the exceptions set forth in the report. The Report of Examination further
notified Respondent that the failure to file the report within ten (10) days of the due date would

result in penalties under section 50326, and thereafter, any failure would constitute grounds for the
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suspension or revocation of Respondent’s license. Respondent failed to respond to the Report of
Examination as required by section 50326.
\%

California Financial Code section 50327 provides in pertinent part:

(a) The commissioner may, after notice and a reasonable opportunity
to be heard, suspend or revoke any license if the commissioner finds
that: (1) the licensee has violated any provision of this division or any
rule or order of the commissioner thereunder; or (2) any fact or
condition exists that, if it had existed at the time of the original
application for license, reasonably would have warranted the
commissioner in refusing to issue the license originally.

VIl

The Commissioner finds that, by reason of the foregoing, Respondent Kastlepoint
Mortgage, Inc. has violated California Financial Code sections 50200, 50307, 50326 and 50401,
and California Code of Regulations, Title 10, section 1950.200, and based thereon, grounds exist to
revoke Respondent’s residential mortgage lender license.

WHEREFORE, IT IS PRAYED that the residential mortgage lender license of Kastlepoint
Mortgage, Inc. be revoked, and pursuant to California Financial Code section 50311, Kastlepoint
Mortgage, Inc. be given a transition period of sixty (60) days within which to complete any loans
for which it had commitments.

Dated: September 13, 2007

Los Angeles, CA PRESTON DuFAUCHARD
California Corporations Commissioner

By

Jennifer A. Granat
Corporations Counsel
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	Dated: September 13, 2007    
	   Los Angeles, CA      PRESTON DuFAUCHARD
	          By_____________________________


