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DEMETRIOS A. BOUTRIS (CA BAR NO. 124161) 
California Corporations Commission
ALAN S. WEINGER (CA BAR NO. 86717)
Supervising Counsel
JUDY L. HARTLEY (CA BAR NO. 110628)
Senior Corporations Counsel 
Department of Corporations
320 West 4th Street, Ste. 750
Los Angeles, California 90013-2344
Telephone: (213) 576-7604  Fax: (213) 576-7181 

Attorneys for Complainant

BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF CORPORATIONS

OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

In the Matter of THE CALIFORNIA
CORPORATIONS COMMISSIONER,

Complainant,

vs.

AURORA LOAN SERVICES, INC.,

Respondent.

)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)

 Case No.:  413-0177

STATEMENT OF FACTS IN SUPPORT OF
ORDER TO DISCONTINUE VIOLATIONS
PURSUANT TO CALIFORNIA FINANCIAL
CODE SECTION 50321

The Complainant is informed and believes and based upon such information and belief,

alleges and charges as follows:

1. Aurora Loan Services, Inc. (“Aurora”) is a residential mortgage lender and loan

servicer licensed by the California Corporations Commissioner ("Commissioner" or "Complainant")

pursuant to the California Residential Mortgage Lending Act ("CRMLA") (California Financial

Code Section 50000 et seq.).

2. On or about March 11, 2002, the Commissioner commenced a regulatory

examination of the books and records of Aurora. The regulatory examination disclosed that in five of

fourteen, or approximately thirty-six percent (36%), of the files reviewed, Aurora was charging the

borrower per diem interest in excess of one day prior to the recording of the mortgage or deed of
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trust in violation of California Financial Code sections 50204(i), 50204(k) and 50204(o).  The per

diem interest overcharges averaged $223.03 per loan.  The range of per diem interest overcharges

was between $68.52 and $528.36.  The range of days that interest was overcharged was between

four and fifty-one.

3. The Commissioner found that Aurora was overcharging per diem interest during the

last regulatory examination that commenced on November 8, 2000.  Based upon the findings of the

2000 regulatory examination, the Commissioner instructed Aurora to review all its loan made since

the November 1998 regulatory examination, and make appropriate refunds.  Aurora was further

instructed by the Commissioner to implement such procedures as necessary to ensure that per diem

interest was not overcharged in the future. 

4. The findings of the 2002 regulatory examination disclose that Aurora has failed to

implement procedures to ensure that per diem interest would not be overcharged in the future.

5. By reason of the foregoing, Aurora has violated California Financial Code sections

50204(i), 50204(k) and 50204(o).

6. California Financial Code section 50321 provides in pertinent part:

If, after investigation, the commissioner has reasonable grounds 
to believe that any licensee has violated its articles of incorporation or
any law or rule binding upon it, the commissioner shall, by written order 
addressed to the licensee, direct the discontinuance of the violation.  The
order shall be effective immediately, but shall not become final except 
in accordance with the provisions of Section 50323.

7. California Financial Code section 50323 provides:

(a) No order issued pursuant to Section 50321or 50322 may become 
final except after notice to the affected licensee of the commissioner's 
intention to make the order final and of the reasons for the finding.  The
commissioner shall also notify the licensee that upon receiving a
request the matter will be set for hearing to commence within 15 business 
days after receipt. The licensee may consent to have the hearing
commenced at a later date. If no hearing is requested within 30 days 
after the mailing or service of the required notice, and none is ordered
by the commissioner, the order may become final without hearing and 
the licensee shall immediately discontinue the practices named in the 
order.  If a hearing is requested or ordered, it shall be held in accordance 
with the provisions of the administrative Procedure Act (Chapter 5 
(commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of 
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the Government Code), and the commissioner shall have all the powers 
granted under that act. If, upon the hearing, it appears to the commissioner 
that the licensee is conducting business in an unsafe and injurious manner 
or is violating its articles of incorporation or any law of this state, or any
rule binding upon it, the commissioner shall make the order of discontinuance
final and the licensee shall immediately discontinue the practices named
in the order. 

(b) The licensee has 10 days after an order is made final to commence to 
restrain enforcement of the order.  If enforcement of the order is not 
enjoined within 10 days by the court in which the action is brought, 
the licensee shall comply with the order.

WHEREFORE, good cause showing, the Commissioner is issuing an Order to Discontinue

Violations Pursuant to Financial Code Section 50321 and notifying Aurora of his intention to make

the order final.

Dated: December 16, 2002     DEMETRIOS A. BOUTRIS
    Los Angeles, California     California Corporations Commissioner

 
    By_____________________________
         Judy L. Hartley, Senior Corporations Counsel
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