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Telephone: (213) 576-7604
Facsimile: (213) 576-7181

Attorneys for Complainant
BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS OVERSIGHT
OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

In the Matter of CRMLA License No.: 413-0876
THE COMMISSIONER OF BUSINESS
OVERSIGHT, ACCUSATION
Complainant,
VS.

POINT MORTGAGE CORPORATION doing
business in California as POINT MORTGAGE
FINANCIAL,

Respondent.
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)

The Complainant is informed and believes, and based upon such information and belief,

alleges and charges Respondent as follows:
|
Introduction

1. Point Mortgage Corporation doing business in California as Point Mortgage Financial
(“Point Mortgage”) is a residential mortgage lender licensed by the Commissioner of Business
Oversight ("Commissioner™ or "Complainant™) pursuant to the California Residential Mortgage
Lending Act ("CRMLA") (Fin. Code 850000 et seq.). Point Mortgage has its principal place of
business located at 864 Amena Court, Chula Vista, California 91910. Point Mortgage currently has
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4 branch office locations under its CRMLA license located in California. Point Mortgage employs
mortgage loan originators in its CRMLA business.
1
CRMLA Violations

2. On or about January 4, 2012, the Commissioner, by and through staff, commenced a
regulatory examination of the books and records of Point Mortgage under the CRMLA (*2012
regulatory examination). The 2012 regulatory examination disclosed that in 6 of the 27 funded
loans reviewed, or approximately 22%, Point Mortgage was charging the borrower per diem interest
in excess of one day prior to the disbursement of loan proceeds in violation of Financial Code
section 50204, subdivision (0). The per diem interest overcharges averaged $130.76 per loan. The
range of per diem interest overcharges was between $46.74 and $317.01. The range of days that
interest was overcharged was between 1 and 4.

3. On or about June 4, 2014, the Commissioner, based upon the findings of the 2012
regulatory examination, directed Point Mortgage, pursuant to Financial Code section 50307,
subdivision (b), to conduct a self-audit regarding per diem interest charges for all loans originated
from July 6, 2009 through June 4, 1014; make appropriate refunds; and submit a report as to the
findings of the self-audit (“self-audit report™). The self-audit report was to be submitted in electronid
format (Excel), and was to include at a minimum the loan number; borrower’s name; loan amount;
interest rate; date funds were disbursed by the settlement agent; the date per diem interest
commenced; daily per diem interest amount; per diem interest collected; per diem interest
overcharged; and the date refunded.

4, On or about September 15, 2014, Point Mortgage submitted its self-audit report to the
Commissioner. The self-audit report filed by Point Mortgage failed to identify: the date loan
proceeds were disbursed by the settlement agent; the date per diem interest commenced; per diem
interest collected; per diem interest overcharged; and the amount and date refunds were made, if any.

5. On or about October 10, 2014, Point Mortgage was notified in writing of its failure to
comply with the Commissioner’s directives regarding the self-audit report. Point Mortgage was then

directed to submit an audit report prepared by a third party to include all the information required in
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the self-audit report. Point Mortgage has failed to submit the third party audit report as required by
the October 10, 2014 letter or otherwise respond.

Suspension and Penalty Statutes

Financial Code section 50327 provides in pertinent part:

(a) The commissioner may, after notice and a reasonable opportunity to
be heard, suspend or revoke any license, if the commissioner finds that:

(1) the licensee has violated any provision of this division or rule or order
of the commissioner thereunder; or (2) any fact or condition exists that, if
it had existed at the time of the original application for license, reasonably
would have warranted the commissioner in refusing to issue the license originally.

Financial Code section 50513 provides in pertinent part:

(@) The commissioner may do one or more of the following:

(4) Impose fines on a mortgage loan originator or any residential mortgage
lender or servicer licensee employing a mortgage loan originator pursuant
to subdivisions (b), (c), and (d).

(b) The commissioner may impose a civil penalty on a mortgage loan originator
or any residential mortgage lender or servicer licensee employing a mortgage
loan originator, if the commissioner finds, on the record after notice and
opportunity for hearing, that the mortgage loan originator or any residential
mortgage lender or servicer licensee employing a mortgage loan originator

has violated or failed to comply with any requirement of this division or any
regulation prescribed by the commissioner under this division or order issued
under authority of this division.

(c) The maximum amount of penalty for each act or omission described in
subdivision (b) shall be twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000).

(d) Each violation or failure to comply with any directive or order of the
commissioner is a separate and distinct violation or failure.

v

Conclusion

The Commissioner finds that, by reason of the foregoing, Point Mortgage has violated

Financial Code sections 50204, subdivision (0), and 50307, subdivision (b), and based thereon,
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grounds exist to (i) suspend the residential mortgage lender licenses of Point Mortgage, and (ii)

assess penalties against Point Mortgage pursuant to Financial Code section 50513, subdivision (b).

\Y
Prayer
WHEREFORE, IT IS PRAYED that:
1. Pursuant to Financial Code section 50327, the residential mortgage lender licenses of

Point Mortgage be suspended for a period of up to 12 months;

2. Pursuant to the Financial Code section 50513, subdivision (b), penalties be levied
against Point Mortgage for at least 6 violations of Financial Code sections 50504, subdivision (0),
overcharging per diem interest, according to proof, but in an amount of at least $1,000.00 per
violation; and

3. Pursuant to the Financial Code section 50513, subdivision (b), a penalty be levied
against Point Mortgage for failure to submit a special report, in violation of Financial Code section

50307, subdivision (b), according to proof, but in an amount of at least $25,000.00.

Dated: March 4, 2015 JAN LYNN OWEN
Los Angeles, California Commissioner of Business Oversight
By

Judy L. Hartley
Senior Corporations Counsel
Enforcement Division
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