Multiple files are bound together in this PDF Package.

Adobe recommends using Adobe Reader or Adobe Acrobat version 8 or later to work with
documents contained within a PDF Package. By updating to the latest version, you'll enjoy
the following benefits:

- Efficient, integrated PDF viewing
- Easy printing

« Quick searches

Don’t have the latest version of Adobe Reader?

Click here to download the latest version of Adobe Reader

If you already have Adobe Reader 8,
click a file in this PDF Package to view it.



http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html


State of California — Department of Business Oversight

© 00 N oo o B~ W N P

N R R N N I N R N T ~ i = T e T i o e =
©® N o OB W N P O ©W © N o o b~ W N BB o

MARY ANN SMITH
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SEAN M. ROONEY

Assistant Chief Counsel

SOPHIA C. KIM (CA BAR NO. 265649)
Corporations Counsel

Department of Business Oversight
320 West 4" Street, Suite 750

Los Angeles, California 90013
Telephone: (213) 576-7594
Facsimile: (213) 576-7181

Attorneys for Complainant
BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS OVERSIGHT
OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

In the Matter of Accusation of THE File No.: 413-0981
COMMISSIONER OF BUSINESS
OVERSIGHT OF THE STATE OF AMENDED ACCUSATION IN SUPPORT OF
CALIFORNIA, NOTICE OF INTENT TO ISSUE ORDERS
SUSPENDING LICENSE AND IMPOSING
Complainant, PENALTIES
VS.

MANN MORTGAGE, LLC d.b.a.
LIFE MORTGAGE,
WESTCORP MORTGAGE GROUP,

N N N N N N N N N N N N N N

Respondent.

This Amended Accusation in Support of Notice of Intent to Issue Orders Suspending
License and Imposing Penalties (“Amended Accusation”) partially amends and supersedes the
Accusation in Support of Notice of Intent to Issue Orders Suspending License and Imposing
Penalties issued on June 30, 2014 (“June 30, 2014 Accusation) by revising lines 14 — 15 in Section
Il and deleting lines 1 — 12 in Section I1l. The remaining portions of the June 30, 2014 Accusation

remain in effect.

The Complainant is informed and believes and based upon such information and belief,

alleges and charges the Respondent as follows:
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Mann Mortgage, LLC d.b.a. Life Mortgage, Westcorp Mortgage Group (“Mann Mortgage”
or “Respondent”) is a residential mortgage lender licensed since August 24, 2009 by the
Commissioner of Business Oversight (“Commissioner” or “Complainant”)* pursuant to the
California Residential Mortgage Lending Act (“CRMLA”) (California Financial Code sections
50000 et seq.). Mann Mortgage has its principal place of business located at 1220 Whitefish Stage,
Kalispell, MT 59901. Mann Mortgage employs mortgage loan originators.

1

On or about July 5, 2011, the Department of Business Oversight (“Department”)
commenced a regulatory examination of the books and records of Respondent under the CRMLA
(“2011 regulatory examination). The 2011 regulatory examination disclosed that for two of 24
loans, or approximately 8.3% of the loans reviewed, Respondent charged the borrower per diem
interest in excess of one day prior to the date that the loan proceeds were disbursed from escrow, in
violation of California Financial Code (“FC”) section 50204, subdivision (0). The range of per
diem interest overcharges was between $46.28 and $141.06. The range of days that interest was
overcharged was between one and three days.

On or about January 13, 2012, the Department directed Respondent to make appropriate
refunds to the two borrowers in the amount of the overcharge plus 10% per annum. Evidence of
these refunds was due within thirty (30) calendar days, or by February 13, 2012. Pursuant to an
extension that was requested by Respondent on February 10, 2012, and granted by the Department
to respond by March 1, 2012, Respondent timely provided its response on February 29, 2012,

Il

On or about March 25, 2013, the Department commenced a regulatory examination of the
books and records of Respondent under the CRMLA (2013 regulatory examination”). The 2013
regulatory examination disclosed that for four of 18 loans, or approximately 22% of the loans
reviewed, Respondent charged the borrower per diem interest in excess of one day prior to the date

that the loan proceeds were disbursed from escrow, in violation of FC section 50204, subdivision

! As of July 1, 2013, the Department of Corporations and the Department of Financial Institutions merged to form the
Department of Business Oversight.
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(0). While a document entitled, “California Per Diem Interest Accrual Disclosure” was found in
one of the four loans with per diem interest overcharges, the disclosure did not comply with
California Civil Code (“CC”) section 2948.5, subdivision (b). Therefore, the disclosure was not
considered in calculating per diem interest charges. The range of per diem interest overcharges was
between $18.43 and $61.34. The range of days that interest was overcharged was between one and
four days.

On or about December 10, 2013, the Department directed Respondent to complete the
following: (i) review all loans that were originated since July 5, 2011 to January 31, 2013 to
determine the number and amount of overcharges collected from borrowers; and (ii) provide a
detailed report of the files reviewed and the dollar amount of the overcharges established through
the review of its originated loans, including, but not limited to, the loan number, borrower’s name,
loan amount, interest rate, date disbursed by the settlement agent, date Respondent started
collecting interest, interest overcharged, and date refunded (“Report”). In addition, the borrowers
who were overcharged were to be refunded the amount of the overcharge plus interest at the rate of
10% per annum. The Report was due within thirty (30) calendar days, or by January 9, 2014.

On or about January 27, 2014, Respondent submitted its Report, which disclosed that in 15
out of 186 loans it reviewed, Respondent had charged the borrower per diem interest in excess of
one day prior to the date that the loan proceeds were disbursed from escrow, in violation of FC
section 50204, subdivision (0). Respondent also submitted copies of refund checks and letters to
overcharged borrowers dated January 23, 2014. However, Respondent failed to provide the correct
refund amount for each of the four loans that were noted for per diem interest overcharges during
the 2013 regulatory examination.

On or about April 24, 2014, the Department directed Respondent to submit information to
examine the accuracy of its Report. On or about May 3, 2014, Respondent provided a written
response, which disclosed that for at least one out of 15 loans Respondent noted for per diem
interest overcharges in its Report, Respondent had failed to determine the correct overcharge and

the correct refund amount.
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California Financial Code section 50327 provides in pertinent part:

(a) The commissioner may, after notice and a reasonable opportunity to
be heard, suspend or revoke any license, if the commissioner finds that:
(1) the licensee has violated any provision of this division or rule or order
of the commissioner thereunder; or (2) any fact or condition exists that, if
it had existed at the time of the original application for license, reasonably
would have warranted the commissioner in refusing to issue the license
originally.

California Financial Code section 50513 provides in pertinent part:

(a) The commissioner may do one or more of the following:

(4) Impose fines on a mortgage loan originator or any residential mortgage
lender or servicer licensee employing a mortgage loan originator pursuant
to subdivisions (b), (c), and (d).

(b) The commissioner may impose a civil penalty on a mortgage loan
originator or any residential mortgage lender or servicer licensee
employing a mortgage loan originator, if the commissioner finds, on the
record after notice and opportunity for hearing, that the mortgage loan
originator or any residential mortgage lender or servicer licensee
employing a mortgage loan originator has violated or failed to comply
with any requirement of this division or any regulation prescribed by the
commissioner under this division or order issued under authority of this
division.

(c) The maximum amount of penalty for each act or omission described in
subdivision (b) shall be twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000).

(d) Each violation or failure to comply with any directive or
order of the commissioner is a separate and distinct violation or
failure.

\Y

The Commissioner finds that, by reason of the foregoing, Mann Mortgage, LLC d.b.a. Life
Mortgage, Westcorp Mortgage Group has violated FC section 50204 of the CRMLA. Therefore,

grounds exist to:
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(1) suspend the CRMLA residential mortgage lender license of Mann Mortgage, LLC d.b.a.
Life Mortgage, Westcorp Mortgage Group pursuant to FC section 50327, and

(2) levy penalties against Mann Mortgage, LLC d.b.a. Life Mortgage, Westcorp Mortgage
Group pursuant to FC section 50513(b).

WHEREFORE, IT IS PRAYED that:

1. Pursuant to FC section 50327, the residential mortgage lender license of Mann
Mortgage be suspended for up to 12 months; and

2. Pursuant to FC section 50513(b), penalties be levied against Mann Mortgage for at
least 19 violations of FC section 50204(0), whereby Mann Mortgage overcharged borrowers per
diem interest during the period from July 5, 2011 to January 31, 2013, in an amount of at least

$2,500 per violation, for a total amount of penalties of at least $47,500, or according to proof.

Dated: July 22, 2014
Los Angeles, CA JAN LYNN OWEN
Commissioner of Business Oversight

By

Sophia C. Kim
Corporations Counsel
Enforcement Division
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Assistant Chief Counsel
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Corporations Counsel

Department of Business Oversight
320 West 4" Street, Suite 750

Los Angeles, California 90013
Telephone: (213) 576-7594
Facsimile: (213) 576-7181

Attorneys for Complainant
BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS OVERSIGHT
OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

In the Matter of THE COMMISSIONER OF File No.: 413-0981
BUSINESS OVERSIGHT OF THE STATE OF
CALIFORNIA, AMENDED STATEMENT OF FACTS IN
SUPPORT OF ORDER TO DISCONTINUE
Complainant, VIOLATIONS PURSUANT TO
CALIFORNIA FINANCIAL CODE SECTION
Vs. 50321 AND NOTICE OF INTENT TO MAKE

ORDER FINAL
MANN MORTGAGE, LLC d.b.a.
LIFE MORTGAGE,

WESTCORP MORTGAGE GROUP,

N N N N N N N N N N N N N

Respondent.

This Amended Statement of Facts in Support of Order to Discontinue Violations Pursuant to
California Financial Code Section 50321 and Notice of Intent to Make Order Final (*Amended
Statement of Facts”) partially amends and supersedes the Statement of Facts in Support of Order to
Discontinue Violations Pursuant to California Financial Code Section 50321 and Notice of Intent to
Make Order Final issued on June 30, 2014 (“June 30, 2014 Statement of Facts”) by revising lines
14 — 15 in Paragraph 3 and deleting Paragraphs 5 and 6. The remaining portions of the June 30,

2014 Statement of Facts remain in effect.
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The Complainant is informed and believes and based upon such information and belief,
alleges and charges the Respondent as follows:

1. Mann Mortgage, LLC d.b.a. Life Mortgage, Westcorp Mortgage Group (“Mann
Mortgage” or “Respondent”) is a residential mortgage lender licensed since August 24, 2009 by the
Commissioner of Business Oversight (“Commissioner” or “Complainant”)! pursuant to the
California Residential Mortgage Lending Act (“CRMLA”) (California Financial Code sections
50000 et seq.). Mann Mortgage has its principal place of business located at 1220 Whitefish Stage,
Kalispell, MT 59901. Mann Mortgage employs mortgage loan originators.

2. On or about July 5, 2011, the Department of Business Oversight (“Department”)
commenced a regulatory examination of the books and records of Respondent under the CRMLA
(2011 regulatory examination). The 2011 regulatory examination disclosed that for two of 24
loans, or approximately 8.3% of the loans reviewed, Respondent charged the borrower per diem
interest in excess of one day prior to the date that the loan proceeds were disbursed from escrow, in
violation of California Financial Code (“FC”) section 50204, subdivision (0). The range of per
diem interest overcharges was between $46.28 and $141.06. The range of days that interest was
overcharged was between one and three days.

3. On or about January 13, 2012, the Department directed Respondent to make
appropriate refunds to the two borrowers in the amount of the overcharge plus 10% per annum.
Evidence of these refunds was due within thirty (30) calendar days, or by February 13, 2012.
Pursuant to an extension that was requested by Respondent on February 10, 2012, and granted by
the Department to respond by March 1, 2012, Respondent timely provided its response on February
29, 2012.

4, On or about March 25, 2013, the Department commenced a regulatory examination
of the books and records of Respondent under the CRMLA (2013 regulatory examination”). The
2013 regulatory examination disclosed that for four of 18 loans, or approximately 22% of the loans
reviewed, Respondent charged the borrower per diem interest in excess of one day prior to the date

that the loan proceeds were disbursed from escrow, in violation of FC section 50204, subdivision

! As of July 1, 2013, the Department of Corporations and the Department of Financial Institutions merged to form the
Department of Business Oversight.
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(0). While a document entitled, “California Per Diem Interest Accrual Disclosure” was found in
one of the four loans with per diem interest overcharges, the disclosure did not comply with
California Civil Code (“CC”) section 2948.5, subdivision (b). Therefore, the disclosure was not
considered in calculating per diem interest charges. The range of per diem interest overcharges was
between $18.43 and $61.34. The range of days that interest was overcharged was between one and
four days.

5. On or about December 10, 2013, the Department directed Respondent to complete
the following: (i) review all loans that were originated since July 5, 2011 to January 31, 2013 to
determine the number and amount of overcharges collected from borrowers; and (ii) provide a
detailed report of the files reviewed and the dollar amount of the overcharges established through
the review of its originated loans, including, but not limited to, the loan number, borrower’s name,
loan amount, interest rate, date disbursed by the settlement agent, date Respondent started
collecting interest, interest overcharged, and date refunded (“Report”). In addition, the borrowers
who were overcharged were to be refunded the amount of the overcharge plus interest at the rate of
10% per annum. The Report was due within thirty (30) calendar days, or by January 9, 2014.

6. On or about January 27, 2014, Respondent submitted its Report, which disclosed
that in 15 out of 186 loans it reviewed, Respondent had charged the borrower per diem interest in
excess of one day prior to the date that the loan proceeds were disbursed from escrow, in violation
of FC section 50204, subdivision (0). Respondent also submitted copies of refund checks and
letters to overcharged borrowers dated January 23, 2014. However, Respondent failed to provide
the correct refund amount for each of the four loans that were noted for per diem interest
overcharges during the 2013 regulatory examination.

7. On or about April 24, 2014, the Department directed Respondent to submit
information to examine the accuracy of its Report. On or about May 3, 2014, Respondent provided
a written response, which disclosed that for at least one out of 15 loans Respondent noted for per
diem interest overcharges in its Report, Respondent had failed to determine the correct overcharge
and the correct refund amount.

By reason of the foregoing, Respondent has violated FC section 50204, subdivision (0).
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California Financial Code section 50321 provides in pertinent part:

If, after investigation, the commissioner has reasonable grounds to believe
that any licensee has violated its articles of incorporation or any law or
rule binding upon it, the commissioner shall, by written order addressed to
the licensee, direct the discontinuance of the violation. The order shall be
effective immediately, but shall not become final except in accordance
with the provisions of Section 50323.

California Financial Code section 50323 provides:

(a) No order issued pursuant to Section 50321 or 50322 may become final
except after notice to the affected licensee of the commissioner's intention
to make the order final and of the reasons for the finding. The
commissioner shall also notify the licensee that upon receiving a request
the matter will be set for hearing to commence within 15 business days
after receipt. The licensee may consent to have the hearing commence at a
later date. If no hearing is requested within 30 days after the mailing or
service of the required notice, and none is ordered by the commissioner,
the order may become final without hearing and the licensee shall
immediately discontinue the practices named in the order. If a hearing is
requested or ordered, it shall be held in accordance with the provisions of
the Administrative Procedure Act (Chapter 5 (commencing with Section
11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code), and the
commissioner shall have all of the powers granted under that act. If, upon
the hearing, it appears to the commissioner that the licensee is conducting
business in an unsafe and injurious manner or is violating its articles of
incorporation or any law of this state, or any rule binding upon it, the
commissioner shall make the order of discontinuance final and the
licensee shall immediately discontinue the practices named in the order.

(b) The licensee has 10 days after an order is made final to commence an
action to restrain enforcement of the order. If the enforcement of the order
is not enjoined within 10 days by the court in which the action is brought,
the licensee shall comply with the order.
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WHEREFORE, good cause showing, the Commissioner is issuing an Order to Discontinue
Violations Pursuant to Financial Code section 50321 and notifying Mann Mortgage, LLC d.b.a. Life

Mortgage, Westcorp Mortgage Group of her intention to make the order final.

Dated: July 22, 2014
Los Angeles, CA JAN LYNN OWEN
Commissioner of Business Oversight

By

Sophia C. Kim
Corporations Counsel
Enforcement Division
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