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BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS OVERSIGHT
OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

In the Matter of the Accusation of THE File Nos.: 413-0749 and 603-1908
COMMISSIONER OF BUSINESS
OVERSIGHT, ACCUSATION IN SUPPORT OF NOTICE OF
INTENTION TO ISSUE LICENSE
Complainant, SUSPENSIONS AND LEVY PENALTIES
VS.

REAL ESTATE MORTGAGE NETWORK
doing business as FINANCEMYHOME.COM,
HOMEBRIDGE, and MENLO PARK
FUNDING,

N N N N N N N N N N N N N N

Respondent.

The Complainant is informed and believes, and based upon such information and belief,

alleges and charges Respondent as follows:
I

Real Estate Mortgage Network, Inc. doing business as Financemyhome.com, Homebridge,
and Menlo Park Funding (“REMN?”) is a residential mortgage lender and loan servicer licensed by
the Commissioner of Business Oversight (*Commissioner™ or "Complainant™) pursuant to the
California Residential Mortgage Lending Act ("CRMLA") (California Financial Code Section 50000
et seq.). REMN has its principal place of business located at 499 Thornall Street, 2" Floor, Edison,
New Jersey 08837. REMN currently has 15 branch office locations under its CRMLA license
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located in California, and other states. REMN employs mortgage loan originators in its CRMLA
business.

REMN is also licensed by the Commissioner as a finance lender and broker pursuant to the
California Finance Lenders Law ("CFLL") (California Financial Code Section 22000 et seq.).
REMN has its principal place of business under the CFLL also located at 499 Thornall Street, 2™
Floor, Edison, New Jersey 08837. REMN has only the one license under the CFLL.

I

On or about March 19, 2012, the Commissioner commenced a regulatory examination of the
books and records of REMN under the CRMLA (“2012 regulatory examination”). The 2012
regulatory examination disclosed that REMN had debit balances (shortages) in in its trust account
totaling $3,371,666.12 as of January 31, 2012. REMN maintains only one trust account for all
escrow impounds and all borrowers no matter the state residence of the borrowers. The types of
impounds maintained in the trust account are taxes, hazard insurance, mortgage insurance premiums,
and repairs. California Code of Regulations, title 10, section 1950.314.6 prohibits debit balances in
any loan or servicing account maintained by CRMLA licensees.

On or about June 13, 2012, REMN provided the Department of Business Oversight
(“Department”) with financial statements, bank account statements and liability ledgers for the
period ended May 31, 2012. These documents revealed that the trust account shortage had grown to
$6,074,476.66 as of May 31, 2012.

On or about June 21, 2012, written demand was made to REMN to correct the trust account
shortage no later than June 22, 2012. REMN determined that its trust account shortage was
$4,500.000.00 as of June 21, 2012 and immediately deposited funds into the trust account to correct
the shortage.

Thereafter, the Department requested documents for the period ended June 30, 2012 in order
to determine if the trust account shortage had been corrected. The documentation was provided on
or about July 16, 2012 and disclosed that REMN had corrected the trust account shortage, and now

had an overage of $216,901.61 in its trust account.
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I

The 2012 regulatory examination further disclosed that in five (5) of the thirty-three (33)
funded loans reviewed, or approximately fifteen percent (15%), REMN was charging the borrower
per diem interest in excess of one day prior to the disbursement of loan proceeds in violation of
California Financial Code section 50204(0). A California Additional Per Diem Interest Charge
Disclosure was found in two (2) of the five (5) loans with per diem interest overcharges. However,
the disclosures were not prepared in accordance with California Civil Code section 2948.5(b), and
therefore were not considered in calculating per diem interest charges. The per diem interest
overcharges averaged $66.20 per loan. The range of per diem interest overcharges was between
$19.96 and $166.15. The range of days that interest was overcharged was between one (1) and five
(5).

On or about November 30, 2012, the Commissioner, based upon the findings of the 2012
regulatory examination, directed REMN to conduct a self-audit regarding per diem interest charges
for all loans originated from July 15, 2009 through March 19, 2012, make appropriate refunds, and
submit a report as to the findings of the self-audit (“self-audit report”). REMN claimed to have
completed the self-audit and corresponding refunds on or about March 7, 2013. The self-audit report
filed with the Commissioner disclosed sixty-four (64) per diem interest overcharges.

In testing the thoroughness of the self-audit, the Commissioner noticed that four (4) of the
five (5) per diem interest overcharges brought to the attention of REMN during the regulatory
examination were not captured in the self-audit as requiring refunds. Accordingly, a follow up letter
was sent to REMN requesting that REMN make refunds in those instances and submit an
explanation as to why these transactions were not identified for refunds. The explanation received
from REMN was contradicted by the self-audit report. Therefore, the Commissioner has determined
that the self-audit is unreliable and has made written demand on REMN to conduct a new self-audit,
by and through an independent certified public accountant.

On or about July 1, 2013, the Department received the new self-audit performed by REMN’s

certified public accountant. The CPA conducted self-audit found a total of 106 per diem
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overcharges for the period of July 15, 2009 through March 19, 2012. The Department is currently
attempting to obtain further documentation to test the accuracy of the CPA conducted self-audit.

The Commissioner had found that REMN was overcharging per diem interest during the last
regulatory examination under the CRMLA that commenced in May 2009. Based upon the findings
of the 2009 regulatory examination, the Commissioner instructed REMN to conduct a self-audit to
find all the per diem interest overcharges and make refunds and to also implement such procedures
as necessary to ensure that per diem interest was not overcharged in the future.

v

The 2012 regulatory examination additionally found that REMN had failed to maintain
information that would evidence the “disbursement date” of loan proceeds in eight (8) of the loan
files reviewed in violation of Financial Code section 50314. Evidence of a “disbursement date” is
necessary to determine whether per diem interest is being properly calculated.

Vv

The violations of the CRMLA described above, if committed by REMN on or before having
originally sought a license from the Commissioner under the CFLL, would have constituted grounds
for the Commissioner to deny the license application of REMN under California Financial Code
section 22109. Pursuant to California Financial Code section 22714, the Commissioner may
suspend any license if “a fact or condition exists that, if it had existed at the time of the original
application for the license, reasonably would have warranted the commissioner in refusing to issue
the license originally.” Pursuant to California Financial Code section 22109, the Commissioner may
refuse to issue a license if the “applicant . . . has violated any provision of this division or the rules
thereunder or any similar regulatory scheme of the State of California .. . ..”

Thus, a fact or condition now exists that, if it had existed at the time of the original
application of REMN for a license under the CFLL, reasonably would have warranted the
Commissioner in refusing to issue the license.

I
I
I
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VI
California Financial Code section 50327 provides in pertinent part:

(a) The commissioner may, after notice and a reasonable opportunity to
be heard, suspend or revoke any license, if the commissioner finds that:

(1) the licensee has violated any provision of this division or rule or order
of the commissioner thereunder; or (2) any fact or condition exists that, if
it had existed at the time of the original application for license, reasonably
would have warranted the commissioner in refusing to issue the license originally.

California Financial Code section 50513 provides in pertinent part:

(a) The commissioner may do one or more of the following:

(4) Impose fines on a mortgage loan originator or any residential mortgage
lender or servicer licensee employing a mortgage loan originator pursuant
to subdivisions (b), (c), and (d).

(b) The commissioner may impose a civil penalty on a mortgage loan originator
or any residential mortgage lender or servicer licensee employing a mortgage
loan originator, if the commissioner finds, on the record after notice and
opportunity for hearing, that the mortgage loan originator or any residential
mortgage lender or servicer licensee employing a mortgage loan originator

has violated or failed to comply with any requirement of this division or any
regulation prescribed by the commissioner under this division or order issued
under authority of this division.

(c) The maximum amount of penalty for each act or omission described in
subdivision (b) shall be twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000).

(d) Each violation or failure to comply with any directive or
order of the commissioner is a separate and distinct violation or
failure.

VI
The Commissioner finds that, by reason of the foregoing, REMN has violated California
Financial Code sections 50204, subdivision (0), and 50314, and California Code of Regulations, title
10, section 1950.314.6 of the CRMLA, and a fact or condition now exists, that if it had existed at the
time of original licensure under the CFLL, reasonably would have warranted the Commissioner in

refusing to issue the CFLL license, and based thereon, grounds exist to (i) suspend the residential
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mortgage lender and loan servicer licenses and the finance lender and broker license of REMN, and
(ii) assess penalties against REMN pursuant to Financial Code section 50513(b).

WHEREFORE, IT IS PRAYED that:

1. Pursuant to Financial Code section 50327, the residential mortgage lender licenses of
REMN be suspended for a period of up to 12 months;

2. Pursuant to Financial Code section 22714, the finance lender and broker license of
REMN be suspended for a period of up to 12 months;

3. Pursuant to the Financial Code section 50513(b), a penalty be levied against REMN
for shortages in its trust account, in violation of California Code of Regulations, title 10, section
1950.314.6 according to proof, but in an amount of at least $25,000.00.

4. Pursuant to the Financial Code section 50513(b), penalties be levied against REMN
for at least one-hundred and six (106) violations of Financial Code sections 50504(0), overcharging
per diem interest, according to proof, but in an amount of at least $1,000.00 per violation; and

5. Pursuant to the Financial Code section 50513(b), penalties be levied against REMN
for at least eight (8) violations of Financial Code section 50314, failure to maintain evidence of
disbursement date, according to proof, but in an amount of at least $1,000.00 per violation.

Dated: July 9, 2013 JAN LYNN OWEN
Los Angeles, California Commissioner of Business Oversight

By
Judy L. Hartley
Senior Corporations Counsel
Enforcement Division
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